Fast bowler Mohammad Amir has once again faced the axe as he wasn’t included in the squad for the limited-overs series against Zimbabwe. Misbah ul Haq announced a 22-member squad for three T20Is and as many ODIs starting on the 30th of October.

On the other hand, another experienced pacer Wahab Riaz has been included in the squad alongside Haris Rauf, Musa Khan and Mohammad Hasnain. However, Amir couldn’t find a place in the announced squad and when asked about his exclusion, Misbah stated that the management wanted to give chances to youngsters.

“We have followed the same philosophy while leaving out Mohammad Amir and Usman Shinwari so that bowlers like Mohammad Hasnain, Musa Khan and Haris Rauf can get an extended run,” Misbah said.

The series begins on the 30th of October with three ODIs taking place at Rawalpindi whereas the T20I series will be hosted by Lahore that starts on the 7th of November.

There are some young faces included in the squad such as Abdullah Shafique, who enjoyed a decent run for Central Punjab in the recently concluded National T20 Cup. All-rounder Zafar Gohar is making a comeback to the national side by a gap of four years. Furthermore, Shadab Khan has been announced as the deputy of Babar Azam.

Pakistan’s 22 probables for the Zimbabwe series: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Rizwan, Musa Khan, Rohail Nazir, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir, Wahab Riaz and Zafar Gohar.