Pakistan’s newly appointed T20I captain was named in the ICC’s One Day International Team of the Year. However, the star player missed out on the test team of the year despite coming leaps and bounds in the longer format of the game. Babar scored 616 runs in 11 test innings at an average of 68.44 including 3 centuries and 3 half centuries.

Babar was joined by four Indian players, two Englishman, two Australian, two Kiwi players and one from West Indies. Babar amassed over 1000 runs in limited overs cricket with an average of 60.67 including three centuries, the highlight being the one against New Zealand in the World Cup when the Men In Green backs were against the wall. Babar was the only Pakistani player to be named in either of the two formats team of the year.

Indian Captain Virat Kohli, Australian pacer Mitchell Starc and England’s all-rounder Ben Stokes were the only players to feature in the Test and ODI Team of the Year, with Kohli named the captain of both teams. 

Ben Stokes, for his unbelievable year was named ICC Player of the Year. Cummins got the accolade in the Test format whereas Rohit Sharma roped home the ODI player of the Year.

Virat Kohli bagged the Spirit of Cricket Award for his lovely gesture to stop fans from booing former Australian Captain Steve Smith.

"I'm surprised that I have got it, after many years of being under the scanner for the wrong things," Kohli said in a statement put out by ICC.

“That moment was purely understanding an individual's situation. I don't think a guy who is coming out of a situation like that needs to be taken advantage of,” he added.
ICC Test team of the year: Mayank Agarwal, Tom Latham, Marnus Labuschagne, Virat Kohli (captain), Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, BJ Watling (wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Neil Wagner, Nathan Lyon

ICC ODI team of the year:  Rohit Sharma, Shai Hope, Virat Kohli (captain), Babar Azam, Kane Williamson, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav.